Make Up Your Minds!

November 20, 2009

In the past couple weeks I have had solicitations from…

An “Executive Search Firm” trying to sell me a multi-level paid version of Skype/VID/GoogleChat. V/VOIP is FREE!!! I have 3 on my PC.

A ‘recruiter’ selling a service to make audio snippets of resumes. Great timing when trainers are explaining that people don’t respond to voice mails anymore. Sure! Let’s attach them to resumes.

Several ‘recruiters’ selling a service to make video/audio resumes. Maybe someday there’s a place for this but right now, I think finding a good search would be a lot easier. It’s still hard to get the best candidates to stop long enough to talk. Now we want to get them to sit in front of a webcam and perform?

A ‘recruiter’ and some phone book salesmen selling a “new and exclusive” split network. The offering seems to consist of all the old phone books turned into a ‘massive passive candidate database’ and the ‘recruiter’ & phone book salesmen selling for money a big pile of free content generated from another website and presumably training from the ‘recruiter’ starting the new network. A rummage sale of the worst kind.

A ‘recruiter’ selling a service that bombed a few years ago where employers go to have a ‘reverse auction’ on searches and candidates placed on the site by other recruiters who are not quite yet reduced to doing what the various above recruiters are doing. The premise being “I believe in this candidate so much I’ll sell him to the lowest bidder” OR “My company’s need is so important I’ll have the search done by the consultant with the lowest self-esteem I can find.

This makes me all the more excited and encouraged to have met another guy in my own niche who is also buried in work, loves what he does and is committed to doing it better. I know the people I mentioned above. I really hope a couple of them find their way back.

Let’s make a deal!

 

2 Responses to “Make Up Your Minds!”

  1. Tom Keoughan Says:

    Hi Dave,

    So many people out there trying to make money ON rather than IN recruiting presumably because they can’t make a living at their original occupation.

    You should include all those “trainers”, “content producers” and “recruiting gurus”. So many of them pumping out articles and trying to get paid for giving speeches, er…..training. A few are very worthwhile (Danny Cahill comes to mind) but most are not. I tend to think that most times the “trainers” motivation is different than this new breed of hucksters (soon to be baristas or worse yet, “internal recruiters”). The “trainers” I think made a good living in actual recruiting, it’s just that they got sick of it and so tried to find another way to sell their expertise. The problem is that most of them haven’t been in the trenches since the dotcom bubble burst and beyond. It’s sort of like a Catholic Priest offering marriage counseling. Yeah, yeah…..Back to Basics – and the basics have remained the same but the nuances have changed. The overall strategy is constant but the tactics have evolved.

    I love your line “my company’s need is so important that I’ll have the search done by the recruiter with the lowest self esteem I can find”. I fully intend to misappropriate that and use it in my practice if it’s alright with you.

    All the best,
    Tom Keoughan
    http://www.toyjobs.com


Leave a Reply

