Open Letter Instead of a Rant

March 23, 2009

Some of you might want this for a template after changing the niche-specific part. I put all the politeness and hope I have left here. 🙂

Jeff:

Please don’t take this wrong. I am…well…not ‘bombarded’ but certainly ‘overwhelmed’ with offers of tools that are free and will save us, or make us, money. The problem is that even the majority that start out ‘free’ and remain ‘free’ cost ME about $225 an hour to evaluate, test, and use.

The last one that has made a difference and MIGHT have paid for itself was LinkedIn. That was several years ago. I say might have paid for itself because I can’t trace actual business to it but I think some of the info I got have been helpful. It’s kind of like taking aspirin… I am never sure if the aspirin or the time made my headache go away.

If you remain in the mood to provide more and very specific information…here’s my problem:

  • I am interested in finding and getting to know very talented technical people with very high security clearances who, by definition, believe they have no need to know me…because most top talent feels this way and the ones with clearances really feel this way.
  • In my headhunting niche, people who are LOOKING for opportunities are almost always people I cannot introduce to my clients.
  • The VERY FEW other recruiters who have ‘ended up’ in my niche (only a nut would do this on purpose) understand this and we consequently end up doing very little split business.
  • The considerable number of others who flirt with this niche or think they are in it have wasted tons of time trying to make this job easier than it is. I have allowed myself to waste tons of time trying to evaluate these people to see if we could do some business together.

Given all this, I still didn’t want to simply trash your offer. What, if anything, can you tell me that will have me fight through the apprehension of lots of emails of futile explanations to people who want ‘just a little more information’ after I sign up for your offering?

Thanks, Dave

Leave a Reply

