Salary Surveys : a quick morning rant…

June 17, 2008

I have ZERO interest in picking on the guy who sent me this so I am not mentioning who it was. That he sent it is completely innocent but when I saw it I thought about how looking at these things has never helped me one iota to make a placement. Ever. I don’t place people in batches of 4500 and I could not care less what a bunch of people think about their pay. It does not even matter if the stuff is accurate or not. The only thing that ever matters is the one offer recipient’s current salary and what he wants to move. I am sure there are people who use these things but I don’t see any value for a Fordyce Reader to care. Have I missed something? C’mon…let’s stir up some stuff…  Though, even though I question the statistics I do like reading about what WE supposedly make…

Our new survey asked 4,500 workers how content they are with the money they’re making and whether they’re considering jobhunting for better pay and benefits.
Key findings include:
• Unsettled by salary – the majority feel underpaid and unhappy
• On the Move – 47% plan to move jobs for increased pay this year
• Modest ambitions – dialogue between managers and employees could improve staff retention
• Money or perks? – great benefits can supplement a lower salary

Leave a Reply

