The best case I have seen for having a blog

June 11, 2008

Ok, Below I am just pasting in the response to the xtreme.tv Question of the Week on how blogging can help a recruiter. This response and the others can be seen on recruitingblogs.com.

 

Joshua Letourneau just nailed this one, Bill. His 10 item list is reason enough to have a blog without overstating the case for blogs being more directly responsible for making placements. I really love the fact that he makes a great case for blogging while not even mentioning the hugely popular but, in my opinion, highly over-rated “flypaper” theory of blogging justification. I am not knocking Jennifer Porter’s response when I make this next analogy because I know what she described happens sometimes…but her result is just like what I heard in Las Vegas at the Fordyce Forum last week…There is always someone very visibly winning some kind of jackpot while other people are throwing away their money in the slot machines. On the other hand, Joshua is more like the many poker players who understand the game is about math and not luck and that if they follow the ‘rules’ they’ll regularly win enough to stay ahead with the occasional jackpot or tourney win being a happy accident. This is such a great perspective on blogging I am putting it on MY blog J

Blogging can help a recruiter in their business through the following ways:

1. Increase Recruiter Visibility (Search Engines Love Blogs)
2. Humanize the Recruiter (or ‘Career Partner’)
3. Warm up the Relationship as Blogs are Personal
4. Establish Legitimacy & Authority
5. Show that the Recruiter Cares Enough About their Personal & Professional Brand to Make This Type of Sustained Effort
6. Blogs Convey A Distinct Openness
7. Blogs are Interactive (Comments)
8. People Love to be “Informed” Rather Than “Sold”
9. Allow for more continuous brand impressions (i.e. what used to be known as a ‘Multi-drip’)
10. Blogs are a natural continuation of a ‘Micro-Blog’ or ‘Tweet’ – they make a natural and easy to implement landing page (did I also mension ‘measurable’ through built-in Blog controls?)

Great Recruiters always tell candidates to research the recruiter who calls them, and one of the easiest ways to do this is through a Google search on their name . . . which often leads to a blog as one of the top 3 responses.

Furthermore, a growing number of candidates and clients are so bombarded with recruiting calls that there are not receptive until they know more about us and what we stand for – a blog is a great place to start. Also consider the inherent level of candidate hesitance that accompanies a recessionary period – in a down economy, you have to work harder to build trust . . . and rightfully so.

*** In an initial email to candidates and clients, it’s easy to say, “I imagine you would like to get to know a little more about me before we connect – feel free to Google me or check out my blog below.” 99% of my calls today involve a discussion on one of my blog posts, which is a great way to build rapport!

4 Responses to “The best case I have seen for having a blog”

  1. jason davis Says:

    Hey Dave, Great spending time with you last week in the city of sin. Here is a link to the above:

    http://tinyurl.com/4nmljr

    see you soon I hope

    Jason


  2. Hi Dave~

    It was great to meet you at the Fordyce Forum. I am sorry I scared you ;-)… you know I am completely harmless, right?

    I look forward to future conversations.
    Take care and enjoy your week…

    ~Rayanne

  3. Angellaa Says:

    Hmm, very cognitive post.
    Is this theme good unough for the Digg?

  4. Dave Staats Says:

    Ha…I thought it was not bad…then I realized I wrote the first part back in ancient days…I don’t think it is Digg-worthy but I was glad to see it again myself. Thanks.


Leave a Reply

