Another thing I like about LinkedIn

May 13, 2008

I thought I’d start this post with a ‘grabber’ headline for those who know me. As I’ve noted lately LinkedIn is very valuable for a number of things. I think gradually I am finding that my problems are more with the way people use it than LinkedIn itself. It feels like the people with 1000s of contacts are like the boisterous drunks in the bar who make it hard for others to communicate. I finally got around to setting up a few RSS feeds and one was for LinkedIn. It’s really cool when a past candidate or client links up with someone I need to go prescreen or someone I know gets a new job and I get an automatic reminder to follow up. On the other hand, I get those same notes about people I barely know whose invitations I accepted years ago. I only have something like 50 or 60 connections so it is not too bad to find the stuff I want. I just wonder what a mess people with 1000s of connections must have. They probably need a search engine just for the updates on people they don’t know and never need to know. Hey, these martinis are good. Let’s have 8 of ’em. Ok ,back to the phones. Looks like we all got busy last week. If I could spare more time I’d rant some more on the nutty connections thing on random people I see on LinkedIn. I seem to be “connected” to everyone…It’s such a great feeling…just like when I go through O’Hare Airport and see all my friends there…

2 Responses to “Another thing I like about LinkedIn”

  1. Jerry Albright Says:

    Morning Dave!

    As a follower of this site’s content I seem to be detecting something here. Not quite sure what it is.

    Are you telling us you love it? Or hate it? I just can’t put my finger on it. You like it. It sucks. There are great things about. Except all the people…..doing what people do there……..

    You must have been in a traveling circus troupe at a young age. That’s the only place to get the fine high-wire balancing skills you’re showing us here!

    Have a good one!

  2. Dave Staats Says:

    Well…everything evolves, Jerry. Now that so many people are on it the power and utility of LinkedIn is growing as far as I am concerned. I used to complain about the product. I probably should have been taking aim at the users even then. They are the ones who are clouding the issues of utility with all the useless linking.I am not trying to balance anything as much as I am trying to draw distinctions and be clearer about what I am saying. I want to read some blog with something real on some kind of useful result from being a “LION” on LinkedIn.


Leave a Reply

