I just had Shally Steckerl(‘s video) for Lunch

April 30, 2008

Bill Vick has a video with Shally kinda’ buried in his RB.com group. It might be other places but that’s where I saw it. This ought to be available to everyone.  I heard about the guy for a few years and finally saw a presentation when we both did The Fordyce Forum last year. I asked a question and he tossed off a response that I may have judged too harshly. When I recently saw a  presentation one of his guys, Glenn Guttmacher, did at a Pinnacle Society meeting I decided I’d better take another look. What I saw was a vision many people need to see In this particular video Shally discusses the huge problem of all the “snake-oil” salesmen trying to get us to spend money on unproven tools, systems and software when we can’t even understand the proven stuff like LinkedIn that actually work. He sees a possibility for what he calls an operating system for recruiters. It’s a great idea and I’ll leave the rest to him when you see the video.

     I have been saying something similar enough that I’m looking forward to seeing him again to trade some ideas. What I’ve been saying lately is that I am tired of all the ATSs (I don’t even like the term but it’s the one we know) building in all kinds of crap and features that have nothing to do with the process and workflow of recruiting. My refrigerator does not need an internet interface. My toaster does not need a built-in lemon squeezer and my ATS darned sure does not need one particular trainer associated with it. One trainer I really like is associated with an ATS that I think sucks. Another ATS I had no feelings for is associated with a trainer I have little respect for. Who gets value from any of that? My ATS does not need an email program that by definition is non-standard and is almost guaranteed to be worse than Outlook.

     I just wish they concentrate on being good at being essentially DATABASES with lots of places and ways to add plug-ins…which is where Shally and I sort of end up saying the same thing.  He also described LinkedIn in a way that allows me to claim “Poster Child” status. He pointed out while explaining that it takes time to learn all the new tools and that many of them fizzle during the learning and what I’ll call Public Beta process.

     Well guess what? In this blog and in many other places I bitched about what a huge amount of my time LinkedIn has wasted in the past several years. It DID! But now, in the last 3 or so months I can also say it has become an extremely valuable database and resource for info on people and for targeting. I still think the whole networking part is useless and annoying as hell but if it took that to get all those ducks lined up then

     I guess it was better than paying a $3000 fee for an annual subscription to some other useless thing that does not work. I could name some examples but I’ll let them rest in peace since I never bought any of them. Lunch is over. I’ll go back to the phones and Shally ,please go back to finding us that Operating System!

P.S. MY ATS does not like the term ATS either… And as far as I am concerned it is perfect. www.workflowint.com

4 Responses to “I just had Shally Steckerl(‘s video) for Lunch”

  1. Jason Davis Says:

    Hey Dave. if you hyperlink it to the video there, more people will see it. hint hint. cough cough. I look forward to seeing your choice of the best answer. lots of them there. wait. maybe I can link it here.

    http://www.recruitingblogs.com/group/xtremerecruiting/forum/topic/show?id=502551%3ATopic%3A113299

  2. Dennis Smith Says:

    thanks for the post, Dave. I’d like to see this video. Did some searching on RB but couldn’t find it. Can you point us to the specific url?

    thanks!

  3. Dave Staats Says:

    I just checked this link http://www.xtremerecruiting.tv Shally’s on the right side.


  4. As more and more people learn to use the informatuon that services like LinkedIn provide as a STEPPING STONE to the really valuable stuff instead of as an end-product in itself these “tools” will continue to grow in value. But only if we sharpen our own.

    😉


Leave a Reply

