LinkedIn’s move was no surprise to me…

March 19, 2008

Interesting…the other comments in a Pinnacle Forum also seemed to interpret that I ‘didn’t see this coming”. I may have to both re-read and re-write that when I have time. This did not surprise me in the least and I remember distinctly thinking ‘yeah right’ the first time I heard someone (and later many more) suggest we should open our networks.

That might be fine for many people in many professions but for experienced, niched headhunters it is just plain, unarguably stupid. SO stupid that I just can’t wait to hear the other side.

I guess maybe it was the crude term I used for what LinkedIn is doing to the industry. I hope I just remain so busy that I barely have time to be surprised and barely have time to stop and write these things… Probably all we really need right now is for the big trainers to dust off ,update and invent a bunch of courses on contract negotiation. Mentioning ‘but for’ after they claim to have your candidate will be like yelling ‘fire’ in a theater of smoking corpses.

3 Responses to “LinkedIn’s move was no surprise to me…”

  1. Dave Staats Says:

    Also…no offense to Ted Moore. His comment is worthy. Just needs to be forward in the process. And I am now laughing my tail off having seen Paul’s first homily after bragging about how busy I was. I generally agree with that but I can tell you it isn’t me in the sense he meant it there.

  2. Jerry Albright Says:

    I’m with you Dave. Just what in the world would motivate a recruiter to open his entire “network” with the world? I put some thought into it after reading your post.

    Us old schoolers have actually built our network one contact at a time. Today you can simply hit a button and join the crowd! Nothing against LinkedIn or others – but you can not build relationships without REALLY getting to know the person.

    That is why many people have no concern with sharing “their” network. They aren’t really that attached to it. Sure, they’ve accepted hundreds of invites. Sure they’ve sent out thousands as well. That sounds like a ton of work, doesn’t it?

    These huge networks of “friends” are really not that at all. Do these people REALLY know each other? I suspect not.

    So if you’ve invested nothing – you lose nothing when you hand it over to the world.

    Sorry to ramble. Carry on!

  3. Tracy Stuart Says:

    Hey have you heard of Virtudex.com? It’s the best business social network. Invite only so here is the pass code – 1z1code

    Lets see they have Blogs, Groups, Personal File manager, Homepage news feeds with RSS, the best privacy settings I’ve ever seen on a social networking site…


Leave a Reply

