LinkedIn just reminded me of a term from my younger days!

March 14, 2008

But since I am not Jane Fonda or Diane Keaton I will only write it as “sneak-f***ed” and let your imagination figure it out. I am applying this term to the news release this week about LinkedIn Recruiter There are obviously many ways to use LinkedIn and while I have complained about many annoyances caused by LinkedIn in the past I do recognize its value. This value has increased enough for me personally that I accept the annoyances now so if anyone reading this thinks it has anything to do with my past attitude please think again.  In fact ,just lately, I have been getting more and more use and I even bought the service… That said, I think many people probably won’t care, but I also think some folks will be hopping mad when they see that the “networking tool” they originally signed up for is now overtly being structured as a job board. I know smart recruiters are already using it that way. That’s even where I see most of my value. I just think that lots of folks will see this as something they never intended. And since my work is all partially retained now I don’t anticipate personally worrying too much about this next problem but I do believe the 3rd party recruit for a fee industry as a whole have a fairly major concern with what ,I am sure, will be a new dreaded curse from their client HR staffers… “I am sorry,we can’t honor your referral. He’s already in our files from LinkedIn”. Thus we go from “sneak f***ed to butt….  Until next week.

One Response to “LinkedIn just reminded me of a term from my younger days!”

  1. Ted Moore Says:

    “Sneak-f***ed”. Brings back hazed memories, Dave. Many of them good.

    To continue the theme of your post, have we all lost our b***s? “I’m sorry to hear John was in your files, Ms. Krank, but so are thousands of others, I’m sure. Your awareness of and interest in him was prompted by my firm’s referral, not the presence of an old resume in the vast wasteland of a database that you should have searcehd before you accepted any resume from any third party.”

    “Ms. Krank, our business employs a simple, fair concept that covers just this situation. It’s called the ‘but-for’ rule. I’d be happy to acquaint you and, if necessary, your boss with. Otherwise, when would you like to talk to John?”

    If you print the word, “Welcome”, on your forehead, what right do you have to be surprised when people wipe their shoes on your face?


Leave a Reply

